Last night, after what seemed like a long weekend, I didn’t want to go to sleep. Sleep meant waking up and going to work.  Working, as some of you may already know, is for suckers. So I stayed up late. When Monday morning eventually came I was tired. I got over it.

I stopped drinking caffeine about a month ago, and I’m trying to figure out if I’m happier without it. Or, as an economist might say, if it has increased my utility. Note to economists: utility is a stupid synonym for happiness. Living without coffee, tea and delicious soda has had the desired effect (I think), overall, I have more energy. Not Tony Little energy, but he had to be on something to get that pumped about cheap exercise equipment. Now when I’m tired in the morning it passes, but before when I was tired, I’d drink a tasty beverage and I wouldn’t be tired.

I guess I save money, but my caffeine drinking was breaking the bank, so that hasn’t really come into play. Now that school is starting back up and my days have gotten longer, I’ll give sooner or later, and then I can stop wasting precious time pondering the pros and cons of a decaffeinated life.

