Everybody is putting their top 5 lists on Facebook, which I find annoying. I don’t think it’s annoying for blog posts, so without putting too much thought into it, here are some top 5’s.

Albums

  • Ben Harper – Fight For Your Mind
  • The Roots – Phrenology
  • Radiohead – The Bends
  • Damien Rice – O
  • DJ Shadow – The Private Press

Nothing too recent here, perhaps I’m set in my ways in my old age, or maybe I just need more time to realize how great the las Jonas Brother CD is.

Movies

  • Pulp Fiction
  • The Big Lebowski
  • The Departed
  • Braveheart
  • No Country For Old Men

Tough one to narrow down. Like the Oscar voters, I think I’m biased toward certain types of movies here. I really like comedys, but don’t think of them as ‘great’ no matter how hard they make me laugh. Sorry Superbad.

Books (Fiction)

  • Fight Club – Chuck Paleniuk
  • Hocus Pocus – Kurt Vonnegut
  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer
  • Breakfast of Champions – Kurt Vonnegut

I couldn’t think of a fifth book to add. I’ve really read more than four books, and if I was going to be completely honest this list should be Fight Club and four more Vonnegut books, but that wouldn’t be too interesting. I’ll try and remember to update when I think of another book I really loved, other than Stewart’s Calculus.

As I write these, I wonder if I’m being completely honest with you (and myself), or if I skew my lists away from how I actually feel towards stuff that I enjoyed but also think will make me look cooler/smarter/whatever.

