So according to the interwebs, November is National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo, say it out loud, it’s fun) and National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo, suprisingly dissapointing to pronounce).

The former is a project for people to hunker down and write 175 page novel in November. It’s been my experience that people fall into three camps of personal novel writing confidence. A few people have actually written novels, a decent number of people don’t think they could write a decent novel, and most people seem to think that if they could find the time, there book would be fucking amazing. I fall into the later, so I considered taking part in NaNoWriMo when I heard about it.

NaBloPoMo is a project to get bloggers to post daily, not nearly as big a commitment as throwing out a novel in one month. It’s supposed to be an alternative to NaNoWriMo for would-be-writers with no attention span.

It seems a bit unfair of the NaBloPoMo folks to go with November, after the NaNoWriMo folks had layed their literary teeth into it. Not just to NaNoWriMo, but to all the writers out there who would like to take part in both. The blog folks could’ve made theirs a bit easier and picked February, it would be a good project to share with Black History Month, as anyone short on material could post about Frederick Douglass or Malcom X.

I suppose one could try and write a novel, broken out into 30 blog posts. Feel free to steal that idea, but I’d appreciate a dedication to Working’s For Suckers and a link on your blog. I’m not going to do either, I like the idea of skipping work and being anti-social so I can drink latte’s while writing feverishly in the local Starbucks, I think I’m going to make November FiMeNeJoMo (I’ll let you try and figure that one out).

