Kurt Vonnegut died yesterday. He was my favorite author, and probably the person I would’ve chosen if I could have a conversation with anyone on Earth.

I haven’t read all of his books, but I’ve read most of them. Everyone has entertained me and made me laugh. But he wasn’t my favorite author because his books entertained me, reading his work has always felt more like someone is personally telling you a crazy story, and the story’s are always full of social commentary, common sense and a bit of wisdom. I have never encountered another author who’s fiction feels as personal as his, which is especially impressive considering his subject matter can only be described as absurd.  Reading his work you can’t help but feel like you’ve gotten to know him.

It’s tough to pick out a particular work to recommend, he’s probably best know for Slaughterhouse Five. It was the first of his books that I read, a great book but I preferred some of his other novels. I’m particularly fond of Hocus Pocus, Breakfast of Champions and the Sirens of Titan but I’m probably forgetting some great ones.

Here is a story about his passing. Although it seems to me that a writer like Mr. Vonnegut deserves a better written piece than that one or this one to commemorate his passing.

I tell you, we are here on Earth to fart around, and don’t let anybody tell you different.

-Kurt Vonnegut

